"A woman defines herself through the way she lives her embodied situation in the world, or in other words, through the way in which she makes something of what the world makes of her".
And so God made Adam. And, Adam was lonely . So God put Adam to sleep, took a rib and created a woman , Eve. And then Adam and Eve had a whole bunch of children and now here we are. So , I am wondering if, while they were naked like they were supposed to be , was there a style of naked for the woman? Did she get her nails done? How did she wear her hair? And after the whole apple thing, did she wear girly leaves and Adam wear masculine leaves?
I believe that feminism is Man made. There are definitive roles that a woman is supposed to have in a marriage (according to the bible) but outside of that who set the standard? Like who said that PINK was the woman’s color? And why when a man adorns pink he is gay? And why are their so many unwritten rules about what makes a woman feminine? Can we just be women? No additives or preservatives?
I burp out loud sometimes. And YES I HAVE DONE THIS AT WORK . Working with predominately men , I had to “man up” . There was always FOUL language “manly talk” . spitting , yelling, crude jokes, smoking and that nasty tobacco chewy mess, sex talk and this list goes on. But THE MINUTE I spit, or burp out loud after a coke , I was immediately characterized. I am “one of the guys” or a very unfeminine girl. I cant find a definition for myself. I am not the girly girly , and I am not a Tom boy. And why does it have to be Tom? Why cant it be Tracy ?
I like to race the guys, and I know nothing about sports. I love to read, obsessed with criminal shows and death, horror movies are funny , Im nonchalant and emotional. Aren’t men? I wonder why my lack of tears make me tough . And my abundance of them make me... a typical girl . I love fashion! I could style a person with my eyes closed! But sometimes I don’t want to wear TIGHT DRESSES or stilettos. And hell, purses tend to get in the way !Sometimes, quite often , I want a loose shirt , camouflage pants and Chuck tays! Why am I less attractive in that attire? When I am my most comfortable.
There are women , who make this Happy medium thing hard for me. The ones who get their nails done EVERY WEEK. And wear nail polish , and actually remove it when it starts to chip. And their toes and hands always match . And so does their bra and panties. And then there’s lipstick which I absolutely hate! And foundation, mascara, extra eyelashes, hair spray. They knwo each and every mac color by name and when updates on teh new releases. And there is the cute laugh . And a purse to match every ensemble. And they wouldn’t be caught dead in sweats and a hat. They only eat salad on dates and dot their i’s with hearts or smiley faces. They know all the latest celebrity Gossip, watch the Hills and America’s next top model religiously. They are always caught up on the latest girly trends it just makes me sick! I don’t know how they do it.
But then there’s the really cool “down to earth “ girl . She rocks a pony tail and lip gloss (MAYBE). Knows everything about sports, has favorite teams and cheers for them aloud! Goes to the bar with the fellas and she is one of the guys. She lifts weights at the gym.And drinks really strong foreign beers. Most of the time these women are one close encounter away from being lesbian .
Currently , I am typing this with week old polish that has begun to fade.This may be the 3rd time this YEAR that i have polished them. My nails are uneven. I never file them, they grow really long and they break. Maintenance free!!! And I don’t always comb my hair. I love Snapped and law and order. Track n field /gymnastic during the Olympics. I survived, I shouldn’t be alive, discovery and history channels. I don’t know catalog colors like “ shrimp” and “sunset” “placid lake “ etc. I know peach, yellow and you know , the rest of the primary’s. I played with dolls until I saw Chucky. It scared the be-jeezus out of me and I threw them all away. So I dissected random animals discovered in the back yard. And a lot of times, when im driving and i spot road kill, Im still so very interested in picking it apart. =-) I will run full speed from a bug ( and wait on a man to kill it PATHETIC!!!!)
The movie Miss Congeniality , with Sandra Bullock . Great movie, but SO stereotypical. First she was just an ill-mannered turn off. Not a speckle of femininity . Then she was A pageant queen. What about the person in the middle , you know , me! This is getting too long and I know that im not fully expressing what I think about this. BUT ...I just wonder sometimes why the ultimate woman is a blonde bombshell, with perfect highlights, in a dress that stops mid thigh. Her eyebrows are perfectly arched. Pouty lips a shade of red, maximized in gloss. Long legs complete with stilettos. And then there’s me, in a dress and sandals and glossy and wearing a purse ! And I feel like a woman , until I am tired and decide that sweats and a tee will do . Would I be any less attractive to you ?
Saturday, July 11, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment